Know that Thailand is divided into 6 regions

Thailand has an official name as “The Kingdom of Thailand” is a national state located in Southeast Asia. Originally named is “Siam” before become name “Thailand”. The government officially changed its name to Thailand since 1939. Thailand is the 50th largest area in the world.

Today, Thailand have 77 provinces divided by 6 region with consider on geographical criteria follows as:

Region 1 – Northern

Northern regions of Thailand are the top features landscapes composed to mountains that range from Myanmar and Laos. The northern region has a savanna grassy climate like most areas of the country with the plains between the mountains therefore it is the source of many important rivers such as Ping River and Wang Yom Nan. Northern consists of 9 provinces as:

  1. Chiang Rai Province
  2. Chiang Mai Province
  3. Nan Province
  4. Phayao Province
  5. Phrae Province
  6. Mae Hong Son Province
  7. Lampang Province
  8. Lamphun Province
  9. Uttaradit Province

Region 2 – Northeastern

Northeastern region in Thailand is located on Korat basin and Sakon Nakhon basin. The Mekong River separates Laos to the north and east of the region. South of Phanom Dong Rak mountain range separates Cambodia and eastern Thailand with the Phetchabun mountain range and Dong Phaya Yen mountain range as a barrier to the west, separated from the central region. Northeast has climate tropical alternating with hot and dry and raining only in the hot season generally that hot weather can have maximum of temperature at 43.9 degree Celsius. Northeastern consists of 20 provinces as:

  1. Kalasin Province
  2. Khon Kaen Province
  3. Chaiyaphum Province
  4. Nakhon Phanom Province
  5. Nakhon Ratchasima Province
  6. Bueng Kan Province
  7. Buriram Province
  8. Maha Sarakham Province
  9. Mukdahan Province
  10. Yasothon Province
  11. Roi Et Province
  12. Loei Province
  13. Sakon Nakhon Province
  14. Surin Province
  15. Si Sa Ket Province
  16. Nong Khai Province
  17. Nong Bua Lam Phu province
  18. Udon Thani Province
  19. Ubon Ratchathani Province
  20. Amnat Charoen Province

Region 3 – Central

The central region have area covers the Chao Phraya River and contact with the north and the east side with the Phetchabun mountain. This used to be an important land of the Ayutthaya. The climate in the central region is characterized by a climate of tropical grassland (Aw) with moderate rainfall and alternating dry season in the region. The lower air moisture over the nearby sea over the region on the factors that control the temperature.Bangkok is not considered as a province so Central region consists of 21 provinces as:

  1. Kamphaeng Phet Province
  2. Chainat Province
  3. Nakhon Nayok Province
  4. Nakhon Pathom Province
  5. Nakhon Sawan Province
  6. Nonthaburi Province
  7. Pathum Thani Province
  8. Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Province
  9. Phichit Province
  10. Phitsanulok Province
  11. Phetchabun Province
  12. Lop Buri Province
  13. Samut Prakan Province
  14. Samut Songkhram Province
  15. Samut Sakhon Province
  16. Sing Buri Province
  17. Sukhothai Province
  18. Suphan Buri Province
  19. Saraburi Province
  20. Ang Thong Province
  21. Uthai Thani Province

Region 4 – Eastern

Eastern region of Thailand is bordering to Cambodia on the east side, Northeastern and central on the west. This is economically important because the industry with economic come by this region more than other such as auto part, fruit and gem industry. Eastern consists of 7 provinces as:

  1. Chanthaburi Province
  2. Chachoengsao Province
  3. Chonburi Province
  4. Trat Province
  5. Prachin Buri Province
  6. Rayong Province
  7. Sa Kaeo Province


Region 5 – Western

The consisting of mountains alternating lowlands and major crop in this part are farmers. Other part of professional services, travel services, such as provinces of Phetchaburi and Prachuap Khiri Khan. Because it is adjacent to the sea and landmark has gained a lot of popularity. Western region consists of 5 provinces as:

  1. Kanchanaburi Province (กาญจนบุรี)
  2. Tak Province (ตาก)
  3. Prachuap Khiri Khan Province (ประจวบคีรีขันธ์)
  4. Phetchaburi Province (เพชรบุรี)
  5. Ratchaburi Province (ราชบุรี)


Region 6 – Southern

Southern region has a peninsula with two sides of the sea from east side of Gulf of Thailand and west side on the Andaman Sea but Phatthalung Province and Yala Province are provinces that not have contact areas with the sea. The beach on the Gulf of Thailand is caused by elevation with long, smooth coastal plains and shallow waters. Southern Region consists of 14 provinces as:

  1. Krabi Province
  2. Chumphon Province
  3. Trang Province
  4. Nakhon Si Thammarat Province
  5. Narathiwat Province
  6. Pattani Province
  7. Phang Nga Province
  8. Phatthalung Province
  9. Phuket Province
  10. Ranong Province
  11. Satun Province
  12. Songkhla Province
  13. Surat Thani Province
  14. Yala Province

Categories: Asia, Travel

Tagged as: , ,