United Kingdom Travel Guide Information

United Kingdom – Great Britain, the dominant industrial and maritime power of the 19th century, played a leading role in developing parliamentary democracy and in advancing literature and science. At its zenith, the British Empire stretched over one-fourth of the earth’s surface. The first half of the 20th century saw the UK’s strength seriously depleted in two World Wars. The second half witnessed the dismantling of the Empire and the UK rebuilding itself into a modern and prosperous European nation. As one of five permanent members of the UN Security Council, a founding member of NATO, and of the Commonwealth, the UK pursues a global approach to foreign policy; it currently is weighing the degree of its integration with continental Europe. A member of the EU, it chose to remain outside of the European Monetary Union for the time being. Constitutional reform is also a significant issue in the UK. Regional assemblies with varying degrees of power opened in Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland in 1999.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain can be subdivided in 5 areas : Northern England, Southern England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Each and every area has its own language, culture and historical background. Both the English parts form the largest, most densily populated and thriving part of the country. The capital London lies in Southeast England.

Northern Ireland also belongs to the Kingdom, as well as a number of smaller islands, such as the desolate Hebrides west of Scotland, the Scilly Islands in the Channel and the Shetland Islands in the North Sea. Some Islands are not really a part of Great Britain but have strong administrative ties with the UK : the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea, the Channel Islands Jersey, Guernsey and Alderney in front of the French coast. They have self-rule, but the British are responsible for defense and foreign affairs. Also outside of Europe remainders can be found of the Empire “where the sun never sets” : Gibraltar, islands in the Pacific and Indian Ocean and the Falkland Islands close to Argentina. All these oversea areas are called “British Dependent Territories”.

Each country has its own capital, while London serves as both the capital of England and the United Kingdom as a whole. London is the only city in the country with a population that exceeds one million.

List of cities in the United Kingdom (England):

  1. Bath
  2. Birmingham
  3. Bradford
  4. Brighton and Hove
  5. Bristol
  6. Cambridge
  7. Canterbury
  8. Carlisle
  9. Chester
  10. Chichester
  11. Coventry
  12. Derby
  13. Durham
  14. Ely
  15. Exeter
  16. Gloucester
  17. Hereford
  18. Kingston upon Hull
  19. Lancaster
  20. Leeds
  21. Leicester
  22. Lichfield
  23. Lincoln
  24. Liverpool
  25. City of London
  26. Manchester
  27. Newcastle upon Tyne
  28. Norwich
  29. Nottingham
  30. Oxford
  31. Peterborough
  32. Plymouth
  33. Portsmouth
  34. Preston
  35. Ripon
  36. Salford
  37. Salisbury
  38. Sheffield
  39. Southampton
  40. St Albans
  41. Stoke-on-Trent
  42. Sunderland
  43. Truro
  44. Wakefield
  45. Wells
  46. Westminster
  47. Winchester
  48. Wolverhampton
  49. Worcester
  50. York

Categories: Europe, Travel

Tagged as: , , , ,