Aries as Zodiac Sign meaning

Aries Mar 21 – Apr 19 = Aries (♈) /ˈɛəriːz/ (meaning “ram”) is the first astrological sign in the zodiac, spanning the first 30 degrees of celestial longitude (0°≤ λ <30°). Under the tropical zodiac, the Sun transits this sign from approximately March 21 to April 19 each year.

Aries is the first Sign of the Zodiac through which the first Ray of Will or Power reaches our planetary life. Most people are governed by their personality ray and as the present first ray types are expressing themselves through personalities which are on all the rays. The Element associated with Aries is Fire. The leaders of the pack on the first of the line is get things going. Whether or not everything gets done on another question altogether, for Arias far prefer to initiate than to complete. Aries is one of the constellations of the Cardinal Cross of the heavens. This is the cross of God, the Father, and, therefore, of the incarnating nomad.

The keynotes of the sign Aries are four in number, all conveying the same idea. They can be expressed in the following four injunctions which are given, symbolically, to the
incarnating soul:

  • Express the will to be and do.
  • Unfold the power to manifest.
  • Enter into battle for the Lord.
  • Arrive at unity through effort.

Aries is also the purveyor to our solar system of Fire (Electric Fire) and of the dynamic
nature of God which has in it the qualities of fostering and nourishing heat and also of the fire which burns and destroys. From the standpoint of esoteric astrology, there are three major signs in which the “three deaths” are undergone:

Aries, which at different points along the Path of Life forces the soul on to the
burning ground and subjects it to a purifying process during incarnation. Through
the lesser fire of mind, the “jungles of experience are set on fire and dissolve in
flames and then the Path stands clear and unobstructed vision is achieved.” Old

Scorpio, which brings about eventually the death of the personality and with which
we shall later deal when we come to consider that sign. Esoterically as well as
exotically, Scorpio is the sign of death and burial in the earth, of descent into the
depths in order to be lifted again on to the heights (the mountain top in Capricorn).
It is stated in some of the most ancient books that “the heat of the earth, the
mother, and the sting of the scorpion are the beneficent gifts which the turning of
the wheel gives to the man at the beginning and the end.”
Pisces sees the relinquishing or the death of all the influences which hold the man
to the wheel of birth and his release from the control of the Common or Mutable Cross.
It is interesting to note that each of these three signs of death is to be found in a different

  • Aries – The cardinal cross = The fire blazed forth and through that fire I died to life and so was born to death. And then again I died to form (Aries).
  • Scorpio – The fixed cross = The heat of earth, the fiery temper of the mother, destroyed the form, released the soul and so the lesser self was killed (Scorpio).
  • Pisces – The mutable cross = The waters drowned the man. The fish was made to disappear. It then appeared again only to die or else to die and bring salvation” (Pisces).

Categories: Astrology, Horoscope

Tagged as: