Wat Sri Suphan (Sri Suphan Temple) is located on Wualai Road, Tambon Hai Ya, Amphoe Mueang of Chiang Mai Province. It was built in the reign of King Mueang Kaeo of Mangrai dynasty in 1500 (2043 B.E.) by consecration of Phrachao Ched Tue or Phra Phutthapatihan Buddha image. The later construction of the ordination hall and Phra Wihan Borommathai Chedi took place in 1509, when the ceremonial site of the hall was established together with the reestablishment of the Buddha image. However, the old structure is now replaced by the silver ordination hall due to dilapidation.
The architecture is built in Lanna style of masonry and the aluminium-and-silver decoration over delicate carving. This three-dimension art portrays stories of Buddhism, dharma puzzles, and the history of the temple with purposes not only to preserve the religion, conserve the local wisdom of silverware, but also to boast the pride of Lanna kingdom for generations to come.