Skip to content

Where is Galway

Galway is located on the west coast of the island of Ireland. Galway (a translation of Galway. English: Galway; Irish: Gaillimh) is the fourth largest city in Ireland with a population of about 70,000. It is the center of Irish culture, tourism and trade. Galway, with a history of more than 500 years, is a perfect combination of tradition and modernity. As one of the fastest-growing cities in Europe, Galway is known as the “Cultural Capital” and “Western Capital” of Ireland.

Keats once called Galway the “Venice of the West”, with a superior geographical location and natural environment, suitable for various outdoor activities such as golf, fishing, horseback riding, and sailing. Galway has three universities and a number of private schools, and 15% of the population are young students. Galway’s cultural life is rich and colorful, and grand international literary festivals, art festivals, music festivals and horse racing festivals are regularly held every year. The most famous of these is the Galway Art Festival with a history of more than 30 years.

Galway is a port city in western Ireland, facing the Atlantic Ocean and the capital of County Galway. At the entrance to Tongalway Bay of Lake Corrib. The population is 47,000 (1986). The old urban area still maintains the style of the 13th century, and the new urban area has been extended to the coastal sanatorium. It is the economic center of the west.

There are a variety of industries such as agricultural and aquatic product processing, fiber, sewing machine, wood processing, and machinery manufacturing. The fishery is developed, mainly fishing herring and salmon in the Atlantic Ocean. Trade and tourism are important. In the Catholic diocese, there is the Cathedral of St. Nicholas built in 1320. There is a branch of the National University of Ireland.

County Galway

County Galway (County Galway; Irish: Contae na Gaillimhe) is a county in Ireland located on the west coast of the island of Ireland. Historically belongs to Connacht Province. It covers an area of ​​6,148 square kilometers. In 2006, the population was 231,035 (including the capital Galway, the excluding population was 159,052).

Two-thirds of the eastern part is the lowlands of central Ireland; the west is the Connemara lowlands full of peat bogs, lakes and wasteland, and there are mountains more than 600 meters (2,000 feet) above sea level. The residents mostly speak Gaelic. Teaching Gaelic language courses at the Irish College in Spiddal.

The population is concentrated in a narrow belt 1.6 kilometers (1 mile) wide along the coast. Other areas are sparsely populated. The county produces black marble and beautiful green Connaught marble. Other industries include: the boot factory in Ballinasloe, the cotton mill in Loughrea and the sugar factory in Tuam. The population is 129,511 (1991).

Connacht, one of the four historic provinces in Ireland, is located in the west of the island of Ireland.

Connacht (Connacht, formerly known as Connaught during the British era; Irish: Connachta, which means “the land of the descendants of Kang”, also known as Cúige Chonnacht, which is “Connacht, the fifth province”), is the four of Ireland One of the historical provinces, located in the west of the island of Ireland. It is divided into 5 counties. It covers an area of ​​17,713.18 square kilometers and has a population of 503,083 in 2006.

%d bloggers like this: